Regional investment aid

If you want to start a business or develop your existing business, you can apply for financial support if you are having difficulty raising finance on the private market. The opportunities for financial support in the form of regional investment aid vary depending on where in the country the enterprise is located and the type of business it conducts.

Regional investment aid can be granted for major investments in machinery and buildings in assisted areas 1, 2 or 3, for example. For this, the enterprise’s market must extend beyond its own region.

Regional investment aid is granted in accordance with SFS 2015:211 Regulation on State aid for regional investments.

Assisted area 1

Norrbottens county

Arjeplogs, Arvidsjaurs, Bodens, Gällivare, Haparanda, Jokkmokks, Kalix, Kiruna, Pajala, Älvsbyns, Överkalix and Övertorneå municipalities.

Västerbottens county

Bjurholms, Dorotea, Lycksele, Malå, Norsjö, Sorsele, Storumans, Vilhelmina, Vindelns and Åsele municipalities.

Västernorrlands county

Sollefteå and Ånge municipalities.

Jämtlands county

All municipalities.

Gävleborgs county

Ljusdals municipality.

Dalarnas county

Malung-Sälens, Mora, Orsa, Vansbro and Älvdalens municipalities.

Värmlands county

Torsby municipality.

Assisted area 2

*Undantagna DeSO-områden motsvarar delar av kommunens tätort. För mer information om vilka DeSO-områden som undantas se förordning 1999:1382.

Norrbottens county

Piteå kommun and Luleå municipalities*.

Västerbottens county

Nordmalings, Robertsfors, Skellefteå and Vännäs municipalities and Umeå municipality*.

Västernorrlands county

Härnösands, Kramfors, Timrå och Örnsköldsviks municipalities and Sundsvalls municipality*.

Gävleborgs county

Bollnäs, Hudiksvalls, Nordanstigs, Ockelbo, Ovanåkers and Söderhamns municipalities.

Dalarnas county

Avesta, Gagnefs, Hedemora, Leksands, Ludvika, Rättviks, Smedjebackens and Säters municipalities samt Borlänge* and Faluns municipalities*.

Värmlands county

Arvika, Eda, Filipstads, Hagfors, Munkfors, Storfors, Sunne, Säffle and Årjängs municipalities.

Västra Götalands county

Bengtsfors, Dals-Eds, Färgelanda, Melleruds and Åmåls municipalities.

Assisted area 3

Gävleborgs county

Hofors and Sandvikens municipalities.

Västmanlands county

Fagersta, Norbergs and Skinnskattebergs municipalities.

Örebro county

Hallsbergs, Hällefors, Laxå, Lindesbergs and Ljusnarsbergs municipalities.

Södermanlands county

Flens, Katrineholms and Vingåkers municipalities.

Östergötlands county

Boxholms, Finspångs, Kinda, Motala, Valdemarsviks, Ydre, Åtvidabergs and Ödeshögs municipalities.

Jönköpings county

Aneby, Nässjö and Tranås municipalities.

Västra Götalands county

Gullspångs, Karlsborgs, Tibro and Töreboda municipalities.

Gotlands county

Gotlands municipality.

Kalmar county

Emmaboda, Hultsfreds, Högsby, Oskarshamns, Torsås and Västerviks municipalities.

Kronobergs county

Lessebo, Markaryds and Uppvidinge municipalities.

Blekinge county

Karlshamns, Olofströms and Ronneby municipalities.

Skåne county

Bromölla, Hässleholms, Osby, Perstorps and Östra Göinge municipalities.

Each application is examined individually

Please note that regional investment aid is an opportunity but not a right, and that the aid must not exceed what is necessary, taking into account other financing options and other circumstances, for the implementation of the measure for which the aid is intended. The application is assessed in respect of sustainability and:

  • whether the investment has growth potential
  • how many jobs will be created
  • the importance of the enterprise and the investment for the location
  • the regenerative power of the investment
  • the risk with the investment
  • the need for aid so that the investment takes place.

More stringent demands are made of large enterprises

Aid may be granted to large enterprises for initial investment in new economic activities. This means that aid to large enterprises may only be granted if the investment is aimed either at setting up a new activity or at investing in a new activity at an existing place of work which is not the same as or similar to the activity conducted previously at that place of work.

Contact us in plenty of time

Your application must be submitted before the investment can begin. An investment must normally be implemented within two years of the decision.

Contact your region and the Swedish Agency for Economic and Regional Growth before applying for aid. It is always useful to have a discussion before starting an application. Many local trade and industry offices also have extensive knowledge and can assist.


Richard From
Telefon: 08-681 95 29

Nicklas Lantto
Telefon: 08-681 96 88

Did you find this information helpful?

Your Europe - This webpage is part of an EU quality network - link to Your Europe